New Event Added to SSMS XEvent Profiler Sessions

December 3, 2019

SSMS XEvent Profiler was made available on SQL Server Management Studio (SSMS) v17.3 or later. Make sure you are using the latest version. You can find the latest version of SSMS here.

What is the XEvent Profiler?

The XEvent Profiler is a SQL Server Management Studio (SSMS) feature that displays a live viewer window of extended events. XEvent Profiler is directly integrated into SSMS and is built on top of the scalable Extended Events technology in the SQL engine. This feature enables quick access to a live streaming view of diagnostics events on the SQL server. You can read more about SSMS XEvent Profiler here.

In SSMS 18.4 a new event  ‘error_reported’  was added to SSMS XEvent Profiler.  This event gets fired every time an error happens in the server.  This is the exact tsql that was added in for this event:

ADD EVENT sqlserver.error_reported(ACTION(package0.callstack, sqlserver.database_id,
WHERE (	[severity] >= (20)
	OR ([error_number] = (17803)
	OR [error_number] = (701)
	OR [error_number] = (802)
	OR [error_number] = (8645)
	OR [error_number] = (8651)
	OR [error_number] = (8657)
	OR [error_number] = (8902)
	OR [error_number] = (41354)
	OR [error_number] = (41355)
	OR [error_number] = (41367)
	OR [error_number] = (41384)
	OR [error_number] = (41336)
	OR [error_number] = (41309)
	OR [error_number] = (41312)
	OR [error_number] = (41313)

Severity 20 or more means:

Indicate system problems and are fatal errors, which means that the Database Engine task that is executing a statement or batch is no longer running. The task records information about what occurred and then terminates. In most cases, the application connection to the instance of the Database Engine may also terminate. If this happens, depending on the problem, the application might not be able to reconnect.

Error messages in this range can affect all of the processes accessing data in the same database and may indicate that a database or object is damaged. Error messages with a severity level from 19 through 24 are written to the error log.

More details about each severity number are documented here.

You can find out what each of the error numbers means here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.